Fukui-ken (福井県) is located in the center of the Sea of ​​Japan coast on the island of Honshu and is the 43rd smallest capital of Japan. The northern region of the prefecture is called Reihoku (Echizen) and the southern region, from the east end of Tsuruga City is called Reinan (Wakasa), it borders Ishikawa, ShigaGifu and Kyoto Prefecture.

With a population of 772,550, including about 13,426 foreign citizens, approximately 3,584 Brazilians, 83 Peruvians, 4 Argentina, 2 Colombians, 2 Chile, 4 Mexico, 193 Americans, 31 Canada, 2,988 Chinese, 2,292 Vietnam, 2,118 Korean , 1,546 Philippines, 242 Thailand, 32 Mongolia, 24 Sri Lanka, 95 Nepal, 306 Indonesia, 18 India (Prefecture data).

Fukui originally consisted of the former Wakasa Prefecture and Echizen, before constituting a prefecture in 1871. And about 15% of the total area of ​​Fukui Prefecture is protected land, including Hakusan National Park, Echizen-Kaga Kaigan and Almost Wakasa Wan National Park, as well as the Okuetsu Kogen Prefectural Natural Park.

Fukui has a slightly cooler climate in the summers than the southernmost areas of Honshu and the Pacific coast towns and cities, although temperatures generally reach 30 degrees or higher in July and August. Fukui is blessed with an ever-changing natural landscape of sea and mountains. Traditionally, the coastline of Fukui Prefecture receives heavy snowfall in winter. The prefecture is well known for producing over 90% of Japan’s eyeglass frames.


During the Edo Period, Echizen was ruled by the Matsudaira clan, relatives of the Tokugawa. The last Daimyo Matsudaira Yoshinaga played an important role in smoothing the path towards the end of the Tokugawa government and briefly became a politician in the new Meiji government.


Awara, Echizen, Fukui (capital), Katsuyama, Obama, Ono, Sabae, Tsuruga, Distritos.

Districts: Imadate, Mikata, Mikatakaminaka, Nanjo, Nyu, Oi, Yoshida.